top of page
Search

The Tenderloin and the Town: Frankfort, IN

Continuing on my quest to blog about a tenderloin in all of the Indiana county seats, I seized the opportunity to visit Frankfort, IN. I got a room off the courthouse square and planned to spend some time looking at the ins and outs of the downtown area. I found that Frankfort was under a bit of construction – but all for the better. What was probably abandoned structures with no purpose 10 years ago; the commercial district was halfway developed to make Frankfort a premier destination to live and visit. I am happy to hang out at see what is there now and look forward to the future of The Gem City



The Tenderloin


Across from the courthouse in Frankfort on Main St is The Main Event Bar and Grill. One side has the family dining with murals of high schools painted across the walls. The other side has a pub downstairs where you can sit, eat, and have a few drinks, or you can go upstairs and shoot some pool or throw some darts. But, I’m not here to play, I want to sample the main event at The Main Event – the tenderloin. When you see the tenderloin featured first on the sandwich menu, you know something special is coming. The double sized patty was golden brown and garnished with a fresh toasted bun. The breading was seasoned perfectly and gave a nice crunch while sinking your teeth into the tender meat. With a spicy side of buffalo sauce to dip into every bite, it became official that this sandwich is worthy of main event status not only in Frankfort, but in the state of Indiana. The Main Event Bar and Grill is not only a must-visit place to try a tenderloin, it’s also a fun, relaxing place to hang out in small town Indiana on a cold Tuesday night.



The Town


On the corner of the downtown square, you can find a small coffee shop called Gem City Junction. In the morning I wandered in to try a cup and see what kind of sweet breakfast I could find. Not only could you get a fresh baked cinnamon roll, you could pick up just the centers, or just the cup portion. I went with the full roll and took a seat in the corner window of the café with my large coffee. While there I could stare at the traffic on 421 while watching the sun rise behind Old Stoney. It is a pleasant place to hang out and a perfect start to my day in Frankfort.


So let’s talk about that Old Stoney. It looks like a giant castle that sits about a block away from the courthouse. Built in 1892 as the high-school, the place now is the city hall and houses the municipal offices. In the second story the county historical museum is located in the old gym. Although the museum wasn’t open the morning I went out there (make sure you call before you go), I was able to browse through the outside and peak a bit through the windows. The rest of the building still maintains the look of an old high-school.





Zachary Confections is located on the west end of town and employs a good amount of people on Frankfort. Although I had no golden ticket to tour the candy factory, they do have a candy shop located on premises. It kind of acts as an outlet warehouse and you can find a large selection of their popular candy types. I picked up a box of Pecan Perks as well as tubs of cherry slices (how do you slice a cherry?), cinnamon bears, and pumpkin jellies. All for just over $10, so you get a pretty good deal there.


The Milky Way is a small drive-in where you can get soft serve ice cream as well as other savory fast food favorites. Been there since 1950 there is a small shack you can walk up to or just stay in your car and run through the drive-thru. They had a special on coney dogs that day, so I ordered a couple up and walked to the gazebo sitting area in the back of the property. There was some good flavor to the coney sauce and a nice steamed bun to suck up all the juice. They have a tenderloin on the menu also, which may be a good option for someone looking for a more fast-food style one.


This was my first venture utilizing an Airbnb. I travel for work a lot, so I am perfectly comfortable in hotel rooms. I don’t really feel the need for an apartment or house when I stay overnight. I’ve stayed in a handful of Bed & Breakfasts on this blog and usually really enjoy being there, but there aren’t a lot of those around. When I found a small Airbnb in a historic building on the downtown square with a reasonable price, I decided to go for it. I could not have been more pleased. The room at The Roxy on West Clinton St was slightly larger than a typical 1-bed hotel room and had all of the perks you expect on an overnight stay – towels, TV, internet, heat/air, etc… The bathroom was updated and the walk-in shower felt like something that belonged in a 5-star hotel. It was easy to get in and out and had a lot of privacy. It gave me easy access to the downtown area where I could hang out at the restaurant late at night and get some coffee early in the morning without having to worry about driving. I would totally recommend this place if you, family, and/or friends need a place to stay in the Frankfort area.


I looked for some hiking in the area and came up with the Eunice H. Bryan Woods State Nature Preserve. The hike is a bit shorter than I am used to coming in at about a mile and a quarter, and the reviews talked about a pig farm next door that transfers a stench that most would like to avoid on a quiet nature hike. There was even an unpaved road to traverse to get to the trailhead (make sure to get there from the north, it is shorter). But, with all the hardships, the nature preserve was totally worth it to go through all the hassle. The farm stench only lasted the first quarter mile on the access trail as once you get under the canopy, you would be treated to a dome of nature hard to find in Indiana. The cover was so thick that you barely could make out the blue hue of the sky. It was solitude and really relaxing just walking through nature. If the trip is too short, you can make a second loop on the trail. No hills are anything, so for the novice or a more experienced that just want a quick walk through the trees this is perfect.


What a site. The sunrise over Old Stony from Gem City Junction


by Michael Tomko

find The Indiana Tenderloin Chronicles on Facebook at

1,132 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page